Tick Tales of Misery and Occasional Ecstasy

August 19, 2009

Visits and Vacation, Part 2

Filed under: personal — Tags: , , , , — thetick @ 5:51 am

Friday hit, and I got home from work and immediately started doing laundry. It was going to be a busy week, and I wouldn’t have my normal weekend time to get it done. I got all the clothes washed, and we ate dinner. I went to bed a little bit later than usual, I have no idea how long the boys stayed up.

I got up the next morning and had my coffee, then woke the boys up so I could wash their bedding. We worked on getting the house clean, and when that was done, they started playing Halo. The time came where we had to leave to get to the airport to pick up W, and they opted to stay home since it would just be an hour drive, wait for luggage, and another hour back. I drove to the airport, and only had to wait about five minutes before W was standing outside.

We talked  on the way back and finally pulled into the driveway. K was standing on the front porch when we pulled in. I got W’s suitcase out of the trunk and we went inside. They all started singing happy birthday, and there was a cake on my coffee table.

I really didn’t know how to react. It had been so long since anyone has done anything for me that I truly did not know what to say or do. I blew out the candle (thank God there wasn’t one for every year) and we got everyone’s luggage situated into their proper place for the next day and a half. Then we went to Wal-Mart. The first thing that happened… W noticed one of the locals dressed in his “goin ta town” clothes, a very large T-Shirt and sweat pants. I hadn’t noticed him, I guess I have become so used to it that my eyes skated over him. W saw and almost fell over laughing. When I asked her what was so funny, she pointed him out, as well as pointing out the fact that he was wearing suspenders. That’s right. Sweat pants that required being held up by suspenders.

K wanted to make his famous fried chicken for us all, so I turned him loose with the shopping cart and told him to get what he needed. A half hour and a hundred dollars later, we are checked out and on the way home. K got started immediately on the chicken, while J did his best to beat “Through the Fire and Flames” on Guitar Hero. After dinner, we watched a movie and everyone finally wound down and went to bed.

Next: The rainy Capital.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.